On the Edge!

Kristin: In early May 2007, the Melbourne papers carried stories about the new cube called ‘The Edge’ on the 88th Floor of the Eureka Towers.  Peter Binks, CEO of NanoVic blogged:

The trick to this is the switchable glass developed by innovative manufacturer iGlass from Ballarat.  The switchable glass – lower-cost and wider than others produced internationally – changes from opaque to transparent at the flick of a switch.  Viewers to The Edge suddenly find themselves suspended at 88 floors up with nothing visible under their feet.  The company who designed this feature enhance the effect with music and the sound of shattering glass – not for the faint-hearted! What I like about this is that it is real nanotechnology applied to an industrial-sized situation, and making a dramatic impact.  I’m not sure I’m going to try The Edge myself – my daughter Clem is desperate to do so – but I hope it inspires architects and designers to think about the compelling effects they can get using new materials in buildings, cars, and other ordinary structures.


On The Edge
Well, I can now report that Larry Jordan and I have braved and survived The Edge (unlike a certain CEO who found a very important meeting he had to attend!). Some of the Western Bulldogs footballers there at the same time did not seem so keen either….

Larry and I are pictured with Raymond Lam and Jonathan Duckworth who designed ‘Serendipity’ an interactive 3D virtual interface table which is on show at the Eureka SkyDeck entrance.

Originally published on Blog@NanoVic or Nanotechnology Victoria.

Comments

  1. I can’t believe this is more than two years ago. I often include this slide in presentations describing consumer experiences of nanotechnology and relate how petrified I was!

Leave a Reply

