Science Online 2011 and My First World Lament

Sarah: Sometimes I find myself being pulled in many directions by the sheer volume of interesting ‘stuff’ I wish I had time to read and participate in.  You should see the ‘to read’ pile of books on my bedside table.  Hearing about various scientific and other conferences makes me all dreamy, and starts my mind along the ‘if only‘ track: ‘if only I’d studied anthropology!’, ‘if only I lived in Paris!’, ‘if only I had a full-time housekeeper and nanny!’.  Fortunately, social media eases my first world troubles to a degree.  This past weekend I’ve been eavesdropping on the website,blogs and twitter stream (#scio11) associated with the recent and 5th annual Science Online Conference, brainstormed by Bora Zivkovic and Anton Zuiker and held from January 13-15 2011 in North Carolina, USA.  Described as a conference of “bloggers, journalists, people who are pushing science onto the web” (John Hawks, University of Wisconsin-Madison), Science Online 2011 was deliberately held in an ‘unconference’ style, with the program built by participants on a wiki and sessions created to foster discussions and conversations rather than a more traditional lecture-style approach. Participants were engaged in tours of laboratories and museums in the area, signed up for workshops, participated in open-floor discussions, experienced a variety of project showcases and enjoyed meals together: see the full program here. Most content has also been represented in another format, whether as a live stream, blog, YouTube clip or twitter conversation.  Science Online 2011 presenter Kathryn Clancy (University of Illinois) describes watching the #scio10 hashtag and remembers feeling intensely jealous and thinking ‘that’s where I wanted to be’!   Now I know how she feels. [See interview with Kathryn on bloggingheads.tv - a great interview on many levels].

So, in amongst my scheming and dreaming to attend Science Online 2012, I’ve been reading lots of new blogs and other material I’ve tracked down thanks to following conversations relating to Science Online 2011. Here are some links to ‘stuff’ that you too might enjoy:

Science blogging stuff:

Political stuff:

Women in Science and Career stuff:

General interest stuff:

[image thanks to Alexandre Dulaunoy]

Comments

  1. Love your list of things to read, Sarah! Prompted me to look at my own pile of books beside the bed. The pile looks like this at the moment (inflated recently by TED book club):

  2. Thanks, Sarah!

    • Hi John,
      That’s my pleasure – I really, really enjoyed your interview with Kathryn. It takes a great interviewer and an interesting interviewee to make such a wonderful conversation. Your website looks so interesting too! Will keep you in my bookmarks for sure.
      Bye for now,
      Sarah

  3. Write more, thats all I have to say. It looks like you relied on some good sources to make your point.
    You obviously know what you’re talking about.

Trackbacks

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sarah Keenihan, Sarah Keenihan and Bridge8, Michelle . Michelle said: RT @sciencesarah: exception to twitter-free Tuesday is when I write a blog I want to publicise :-) http://bit.ly/h9oc3r [...]

  2. [...] as I listened to their presentation from Science Online 2011 (see here for conference website, and here for my previous post summarising this conference). The term was used to describe the cohort of [...]

  3. [...] Science Online 2011 and My bridge8.wordpress.com [...]

  4. [...] ScienceOnline2011 and my first world lament; [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

